The argument for healthy

About 2-3 years ago I found KERF. That lead me to a whole new world of healthy eating blogs. My most recent find was 100 Days of Real Food which led me to Food Babe. Vani Hari is so thorough in her research, she often comes across as preachy, but is an outstanding source of information.
Through all these ladies, I’ve finally come to the realization that the foods you eat can heal you or harm you.
Like Kevil in Garbage In Garbage Out, I searched to find the final blog, study, or book would convince me that the bad stuff could, and would, do more harm than good. I think I’m almost there.
About a month ago, I went a week without grains and sugar. I cut out coffee in the morning and replaced with unsweeted hot tea. I felt great. So great that I decided a few weeks later to minimize my grain consumption. In the two weeks, I’ve lost 7 pounds and feel so much more energetic and focused. I haven’t included my family, but I am slowly cutting back on the grains I buy. To say they aren’t on board is an understatement. Of course, they haven’t spent the years I have soaking in the information that today’s food sources are contaminated and dangerous. I know it will take time, and they may never be 100% on board, but as long as I’m the one buying the groceries, I’m the one in charge!

Leave a comment